Visitors at the Old Mill at Voëlgesang.
OVER 80 people attended a visit by the Southern Cape/Klein Karoo Heritage Forum to De Rust on Saturday 30 March. They included members of the Simon van der Stel Foundation (Southern Cape), Heritage Oudtshoorn Erfenis (HOE), the Prince Albert Cultural Foundation and De Rust Heritage.
The group visited the farm Voëlgesang where they were treated to stories of the early days in De Rust by Pieter Schoeman, the current owner of the original family farm De Rust. The farm has been in their care since 1899.
The group visited the Old Mill at Voëlgesang, the Vredelus Homestead, the NG Kerk, old church hall and pastorie – all provincial heritage sites, as well as a number of the well-preserved properties with interesting histories. They then drove to the Tante Maria venue at Doornkraal for lunch, where Swepie le Roux, the owner of the family farm, provided additional historical backgound to the farm.
At the lunch the new De Rust Heritage Walking Trail booklet was launched. The booklet contains pictures and a brief description of a number of the major heritage buildings in De Rust as well as a detailed map showing the identified provincial heritage sites as well as other buildings of significance. It is available from De Rust Heritage at R35 each. Contact Alan Tonkin to buy a copy (082 777 1519 or e-mail: rickety@iafrica.com).
• Following the success of the visit a De Rust Heritage Festival is planned for March or April next year to commemorate the 120th anniversary of the establishment of De Rust.