Union Stars Women makes it 9-in-a-row

The Union Stars women’s team that won the Six Gun Grill Women’s Division 1 title on Saturday is from the front left Fransisca Bantom, Jezé Campher, Julandi Saaiman, Jenviwe Jantjies, Kelsey Stuurman, Judith Ndlovu. Back: Katrisha Strydom (Team Manager), Marnizelle Rabie, Jenilee Manuel, Emmy Kay Samson, Miceala Andrews, Faith de Jonck, Jané Winster, Haroline Rhodes and Adv Michelle Weyers (Club Chairperson). Photo: Supplied

The women’s team of Union Stars has won their ninth consecutive women’s cricket title on Saturday at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn when they defeated George by 66 runs in the Six Gun Grill SWD Division 1 women’s competition.

Due to early rain the match was reduced to 49 overs per batting team.

Stars, who were put in to bat, overcome the loss of some early wickets but the veteran, Julandi Saayman, batted with composure in her innings of 59 as Stars was dismissed for 178.

The 18-year old Mariana Breedt bagged 3/36 for George.

George, responded with 113/9. Chantelle van Schoor (40) top scored for George with the bat whilst Miceala Andrews (5/29) excelled for Union Stars with the ball. With this victory Union Stars has recorded their ninth consecutive title as SWD Women’s league champions. No competition was played in 2020/21 due to the Covid 19 pandemic.

The summarised score card is:
Union Stars vs George Union Stars 178 all out (46,2 overs) (Julandi Saayman 59, Micaela Andrews 20, Haroline Rhodes 19, Jane Winster 17, Mariana Breedt 3/36, San-Mari Strydom 2/47).

George 113/9 (49 overs) (Chantelle van Schoor 40, Micaela Andrews 5/29).
Union Stars won by 65 runs.